Monday, June 18, 2018

Review of Three Days Missing by Kimberly Belle

Three Days MissingThree Days Missing by Kimberly Belle
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This book is an edge-of-your seat, can't turn the pages fast enough, thrill a minute, masterpiece! It details a mother's anguish when her son is kidnapped during a class camping trip. There are many twists in this story and the motive for the kidnapping is not at all what it seems. Fans of Shari LaPena, Kate Moretti, and Nicole Baart will love this book!

View all my reviews

Review of Deleted: Jackson and Maggie (Cliffside Bay #2)

Deleted: Jackson and Maggie (Cliffside Bay, #2)Deleted: Jackson and Maggie by Tess Thompson
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

In Deleted: Jackson and Maggie (Cliffside Bay #2), author Tess Thompson continues to draw the reader deep into the emotions of her characters. Her knack for storytelling keeps the thrills coming, like a favorite roller coaster ride! Maggie has just discovered that her father has convinced her entire hometown that she died twelve years ago when she left town to pursue her career. She has returned and her romance with her high school sweetheart, Jackson, reignites. Through their struggles, the two discover that nothing surpasses their everlasting love.


View all my reviews

Saturday, June 16, 2018

Review of The Anatomist's Wife (Lady Darby Mystery #1)

The Anatomist's Wife (Lady Darby Mystery, #1)The Anatomist's Wife by Anna Lee Huber
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This was an great book in the style of famed Agatha Christie. The story takes place at a Scottish estate in the 1830s. Lady Darby is shunned by her peers for her strange work in documenting the dissections her anatomist husband performed before his death. When a murder occurs at her sister's estate during a party, Lady Darby is paired with Sebastian Gage to determine who the killer is before he strikes again. With its whodunit intrigue, this murder mystery kept me entranced throughout, and I enjoyed the hint of a brewing love story. I cannot wait to read the rest of the series!

View all my reviews

Review of Traded: Brody and Kara (Cliffside Bay #1) by Tess Thompson

Traded: Brody and Kara (Cliffside Bay, #1)Traded: Brody and Kara by Tess Thompson
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Traded is a sweetly spectacular love story about overcoming the most difficult of life circumstances in order to be with the one that you love. Kara has been placed in witness protection and must remain hidden lest she be killed by those she testified against. Brody is a high profile star football player. He may prefer his small town, but he is known and recognized. Author Tess Thompson does a fabulous job in placing the reader into her character's heads so that you feel their emotions and longing to be together. The sparks between Kara and Brody are palpable and Thompson keeps the romantic tension flowing until the very end. Fans of books by Rachel Gibson and Jill Hannah Anderson would enjoy this one!

View all my reviews

Tuesday, June 12, 2018

Review of Crazy Little Town Called Love by Jill Hannah Anderson

Crazy Little Town Called love: The To-Hell-And-Back Club Series: Book TwoCrazy Little Town Called love: The To-Hell-And-Back Club Series: Book Two by Jill Hannah Anderson
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Crazy Little Town Called Love by Jill Hannah Anderson is a keeper! Anderson was a new-to-me author but she has won my devotion by writing a superb story I am sure to re-read again in the future! This is the ultimate comfort book. Then novel is about a woman who is thrust from a life full of riches to a simpler small town existence. The town of Love is rife with mystery, long-lost secrets, and someone who bears a grudge. The themes of independence, friendship, and learning to build trust are apparent throughout the story. This is a stand alone novel, but is book 2 in Anderson’s To-Hell-and-Back-Club. I will be sure to read book 1! Fans of Christine Nolfi’s Sweet Lake series are sure to love A Crazy Little Town Called Love!


View all my reviews

Saturday, June 9, 2018

Review of Forsaking All Others by Catherine Meyrick

Forsaking All OtherForsaking All Other by Catherine Meyrick
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

If you love a good novel about perky, strong-willed, forward-thinking women, then this book is for you. This historical novel takes place in England in the late 1500s. Bess is facing an arranged marriage in this time of oppressed women. This novel has all of the great elements of a good story: love with a dollop of conflict, secrets, war, and lies. Fans of The Soldier's Return by Laura Libricz will appreciate this story, as well.

View all my reviews

Forsaking All Other by Catherine Meyrick

Publication Date: April 1, 2018
Courante Publishing
eBook & Print; 291 Pages
Genre: Historical Fiction
Love is no game for women; the price is far too high. England 1585. Bess Stoughton, waiting woman to the well-connected Lady Allingbourne, has discovered that her father is arranging for her to marry an elderly neighbour. Normally obedient Bess rebels and wrests from her father a year’s grace to find a husband more to her liking. Edmund Wyard, a taciturn and scarred veteran of England’s campaign in Ireland, is attempting to ignore the pressure from his family to find a suitable wife as he prepares to join the Earl of Leicester’s army in the Netherlands. Although Bess and Edmund are drawn to each other, they are aware that they can have nothing more than friendship. Bess knows that Edmund’s wealth and family connections place him beyond her reach. And Edmund, with his well-honed sense of duty, has never considered that he could follow his own wishes. Until now. With England on the brink of war and fear of Catholic plots extending even into Lady Allingbourne’s household, time is running out for both of them. You can read the first chapter here. The beautiful cover for the novel was designed by Jennifer Quinlan of Historical Fiction Book Covers.

Amazon (Kindle) | Kindle (Paperback)Barnes and Noble | Kobo

About the Author

Catherine Meyrick is a writer of historical fiction with a particular love of Elizabethan England. Her stories weave fictional characters into the gaps within the historical record – tales of ordinary people who are very much men and women of their time, yet in so many ways not unlike ourselves. Although she grew up in regional Victoria, Australia, she has lived all her adult life in Melbourne. She has worked as a nurse, a tax assessor and finally a librarian. She has a Master of Arts in history and is also a family history obsessive. For more information, please visit Catherine Meyrick's website. You can also find her on Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest.

Blog Tour Schedule

Monday, June 4 Review at Broken Teepee Excerpt at Teaser Addicts Book Blog Tuesday, June 5 Review at Impressions In Ink Review at Books and Glamour Wednesday, June 6 Review & Excerpt at Laura's Interests Thursday, June 7 Review at Donna's Book Blog Interview at Let Them Read Books Friday, June 8 Review at Pursuing Stacie Feature at CelticLady's Reviews Saturday, June 9 Review at Cup of Sensibility Sunday, June 10 Review & Excerpt at Clarissa Reads it All Monday, June 11 Review at What Cathy Read Next Tuesday, June 12 Feature at Historical Fiction with Spirit Wednesday, June 13 Excerpt at Encouraging Words from the Tea Queen Thursday, June 14 Interview at Books and Glamour Feature at Faery Tales Are Real Friday, June 15 Review at WS Momma Readers Nook Saturday, June 16 Feature at Passages to the Past Monday, June 18 Review at The Caffeinated Bibliophile

Giveaway

During the Blog Tour we will be giving away 2 paperback copies of Forsaking All Other! To enter, please enter via the Gleam form below. Giveaway Rules – Giveaway ends at 11:59pm EST on June 18th. You must be 18 or older to enter. – Giveaway is open INTERNATIONALLY. – Only one entry per household. – All giveaway entrants agree to be honest and not cheat the systems; any suspect of fraud is decided upon by blog/site owner and the sponsor, and entrants may be disqualified at our discretion. – Winner has 48 hours to claim prize or new winner is chosen. Forsaking All Other

Sunday, May 27, 2018

Review of How to Walk Away by Katherine Center

How to Walk AwayHow to Walk Away by Katherine Center
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

How to Walk Away by Katherine Center is a fabulous book about finding hidden strength and hope within oneself when faced with tragedy and the loss of all things familiar. The future seems bright for Margaret. She is newly engaged and is about to embark on a lucrative career. All seems lost after a devastating accident but she realizes that she must persevere if she is ever to live a normal life. Once she begins to change her perspective, amazing things begin to happen. This book takes you through all the feels!


View all my reviews