Monday, January 22, 2018

Book Blast! The Secret Life of Mrs. London by Rebecca Rosenberg

x

The Secret Life of Mrs. London by Rebecca Rosenberg

Publication Date: January 30, 2018
Lake Union Publishing
eBook & Paperback; 348 Pages
Genre: Historical Fiction
San Francisco, 1915. As America teeters on the brink of world war, Charmian and her husband, famed novelist Jack London, wrestle with genius and desire, politics and marital competitiveness. Charmian longs to be viewed as an equal partner who put her own career on hold to support her husband, but Jack doesn’t see it that way…until Charmian is pulled from the audience during a magic show by escape artist Harry Houdini, a man enmeshed in his own complicated marriage. Suddenly, charmed by the attention Houdini pays her and entranced by his sexual magnetism, Charmian’s eyes open to a world of possibilities that could be her escape. As Charmian grapples with her urge to explore the forbidden, Jack’s increasingly reckless behavior threatens her dedication. Now torn between two of history’s most mysterious and charismatic figures, she must find the courage to forge her own path, even as she fears the loss of everything she holds dear.

Available for Pre-Order on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and IndieBound

Praise for The Secret Life of Mrs. London

“The Secret Life of Mrs. London is a heart-wrenching portrait of a marriage between two people who utterly depend on one another, but ultimately aren’t enough for each other. With skillful precision of language, Rosenberg weaves a narrative that defines the complexities of love, passion, and art. This is a perceptive, deeply moving novel by a great new talent about a couple who has gone unnoticed in historical fiction until now. Anyone who has ever loved another person will want to read this book.” —Victoria Kelly, author of Mrs. Houdini: A Novel “One of Houdini’s best kept secrets was his affair with Charmian London in 1918. Now Rebecca Rosenberg tells the story using an elegant blend of fact and fiction, creating a Houdini book like no other. The Secret Life of Mrs. London is a true peek behind the curtain and a page-turner.” —John Cox, Wild about Harry

About the Author

A California native, Rebecca Rosenberg lives on a lavender farm with her family in Sonoma, the Valley of the Moon, where Jack London wrote from his Beauty Ranch. Rebecca is a long-time student of Jack London’s works and an avid fan of his daring wife, Charmian London. The Secret Life of Mrs. London is her debut novel. Rebecca and her husband, Gary, own the largest lavender product company in America, selling to 4000 resorts, spas and gift stores. The Rosenbergs believe in giving back to the Sonoma Community, supporting many causes through financial donations and board positions, including Worth Our Weight, an educational culinary program for at-risk children, YWCA shelter for abused women, Luther Burbank Performing Arts Center to provide performances for children, Sonoma Food Bank, Sonoma Boys and Girls Club, and the Valley of the Moon Children's Home. For more information, please visit Rebecca's website and blog. You can also find her on Facebook and Goodreads. Visit the Facebook page for The Secret Life of Mrs. London.

Book Blast Schedule

Tuesday, January 2 Passages to the Past Friday, January 5 Creating Herstory (Fierce Femme Friday) Monday, January 8 Historical Fiction with Spirit Tuesday, January 9 The Lit Bitch Just One More Chapter History From a Woman's Perspective Thursday, January 11 Suzy Approved Book Reviews Friday, January 12 Bibliotica Monday, January 15 Donna's Book Blog Tuesday, January 16 A Literary Vacation Friday, January 19 I Heart Reading Monday, January 22 Cup of Sensibility Tuesday, January 23 The Maiden's Court Thursday, January 25 Pursuing Stacie Monday, January 29 What Cathy Read Next

Sunday, January 14, 2018

Review of Queen of Hearts by Kathryn R. Biel

Queen of Hearts (A New Beginnings Book, #3)Queen of Hearts by Kathryn R. Biel
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I found this to be such a sweet read! It's a feel good novel I will likely return to when I need a lift-me-up! Maryn, an awkwardly adorable and quirky character, is swept off of her feet by a legit prince who is smooth and worldly. She is taken from a Cinderella lifestyle and thrust into the duties of a royal family. The only problem is, her father in law hates her. She has a habit of putting her foot in her mouth, causing great distress to her royal handlers. Due to many misunderstandings, Maryn flees to her hometown and meets up with a long, lost love. She finds herself having to choose between a simpler life with an ex boyfriend, or stepping up to a life with her princely husband, to be lived in the spotlight, while asserting her beliefs and making her country a better place.

View all my reviews

Review of The Party by Robyn Harding

The PartyThe Party by Robyn Harding
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This book starts out with a bang and continues down a roller coaster track of twists and turns, throughout! Hannah's parents throw their daughter a laid back, innocuous sweet sixteen sleepover party. Old friends and new ones attend. Because their daughter has never given them a reason not to trust her, her parents leave the teens to their own devices and retire for the evening. In the dead of night, they are awakened and informed that a tragedy has occurred. Through twists and turns, the family's idyllic nature is shown to be a fraud. Hannah is forced to choose between popularity or doing the right thing. However, nothing is as it seems. Fans of the Pretty Little Liars books and TV series will love this entertaining novel!

View all my reviews

Tuesday, January 2, 2018

Review of The English Wife by Lauren Willig

The English WifeThe English Wife by Lauren Willig
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This was an epic read! Lauren Willig transports the reader to the New York and London of old and into a story filled with secrets and surprises. Janie's brother, Bay, has been murdered and his wife, Annabelle, is missing. Janie forms an alliance with a reporter in order to discover the truth of who killed her brother. This story has many twists and turns which keep the reader alert and entertained throughout. Willig has created interesting characters whom the reader will discover are not at all what they seem. I highly recommend this book and am delighted that it was my first read of the New Year!

View all my reviews

Review of A Bridge Across the Ocean by Susan Meissner

A Bridge Across the OceanA Bridge Across the Ocean by Susan Meissner
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This book was sensational! Through Susan Meissner's lovely descriptive writing, I was transported aboard the RMS Queen Mary to a time of hope and tragedy. My heart was broken by the atrocities that occurred during the Nazi takeover of Paris during World War II. Meissner makes one feel as if they are in the heart of the story. Although there are four main characters in this book, their stories intertwined seamlessly. A surprise twist keeps the reader on their toes. This was a lovely story that I heartily recommend!

View all my reviews

Review of Northwoods Magic by Desiree Lafawn

Northwoods MagicNorthwoods Magic by Desiree Lafawn
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I really enjoyed this novel! I haven't read fantasy in years but wanted to expand my horizons, so I tried out this novel. I was quite impressed that, although different from my normal read, it was really good! The chemistry between the main characters was HOT and palpable, and the story easily drew me in and kept me hooked. I think readers will be delighted with this book.

View all my reviews

Wednesday, December 27, 2017

Review of Bad Call by Stephen Wallenfels

Bad CallBad Call by Stephen Wallenfels
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I loved this book! Fans of Nick Cutter's The Troop, Jo Furniss' All the Little Children, and The Lord of the Flies by William Golding will likely enjoy it, as well. The story takes place in my beloved Yosemite National Park. Three guys and a girl trek through the mountains, getting caught in the elements, fighting for survival. They must also survive each other, as character Ceo has a way of pushing others' buttons and they are all becoming unhinged. Ceo has set a pattern of events into motion and as each character slowly learns his motives, he may be setting himself up for danger. Character Grahame is the strongest, and perhaps the creepiest and most dangerous, and lone gal Ellie fears him. Colin seems to be the most rational of the group but he has been burned by Ceo, as well. It is an exciting fight for survival and only three come out alive.


View all my reviews